Thread: Cellulitis

Cellulitis

Here in the UK. I have become aware of the sad loss of life, to some who have undergone cardiac surgery. The patients have survived the surgery etc. However in several cases that I am aware of. Their quality of life has not been what one expected. In fact, outwardly. The individual has appeared to be worse after the medical procedure than before. Particularly in cases where arterys have been taken from the legs, to be used in bypass surgery. Remember. I am not a professional. I can only quote accounts as related to me. Apart from individuals general performance of daily life, sometimes perhaps it is mind over matter, that their general status seems to change. However. One prominent and disabling aspect arises. Cellulitis. My grandson aged 12 recently underwnt surgery for a fractured arm. Actually it was his second operation. This time, having had plates inserted. He healed quickly except for indications of swelling around the operated area. It was diagnosed as cellulitis. Fortunately antibiotics saved the day. Another case, and sadly, this patient has now died, of cellulitis. This lady, late seventies, early eighties. Had cardiac surgery. Never the same afterwards. Her legs swelled up, leakage from the flesh became unbearable. Such a loverly person. Her funeral is in a few days time. Perhaps this is not the place to ask. However. Truthfull answers always seem to be provided here. Can cellulitis be overcome?

2. New Feature! NoBlood Answers!

• ASK questions regarding Transfusion Alternatives and Patient Blood Management.
    • SHARE your facts, opinions and personal experience.
    • DISCOVER the best answers chosen by Healthcare Professionals and the Public.
    • RANK the best answers.

Click here to see the Best Answers to Top Questions.

Quote Originally Posted by Trafpol View Post
    Can cellulitis be overcome?
    First, sorry about the sad news you shared.